because you want to SEE it


1 2 3 97

IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular Returns in a Few Short Weeks to the Keystone State

WEST PALM BEACH, FL – With exciting International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Summit Sportsman Spectacular events in the books at State Capitol Raceway, Baton Rouge, La, Xtreme Raceway Park, Ferris, Texas, Dragway 42, West Salem, Ohio, and Wilkesboro Dragway, Wilkesboro, N.C., the series heads into its summer break.

The double-race weekends return August 3-5 at the Keystone Raceway Park in New Alexandria, Pa.

The weekend features huge payouts a $10,000-to-win on Moser Engineering Saturday and a $5,000-to-win on Sunday.

But, that’s only one part of an extensive prize package. In addition to having the opportunity to get two races for the price of one, the Summit Sportsman Spectacular events feature a set of unique bonus opportunities for all racers. Cash bonuses are up for grabs for the IHRA Summit SuperSeries member that goes the furthest in eliminations or wins the event.

Continue reading


Robertson, Daniels Earn IHRA Summit Spectacular Wins at Wilkesboro Dragway

WILKESBORO, NC — Roger Robertson and William Daniels came away with the biggest prizes at Saturday’s International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Summit Sportsman Spectacular races at Wilkesboro Dragway

Roger Robertson from Blowing Rock, N.C., scored the victory in the Moser Engineering Saturday $10,000-to-win race with a .030 reaction time and a 5.87-second run 116.67 mph on a 5.86 dial-in to. Runner-up Jeff Bowman from Asheboro, N.C., red-lighted to negate a 5.71-second run at 119.30 mph.

Beyond getting an IHRA Ironman trophy and a large championship check, Robertson received another $500 as an IHRA Summit SuperSeries member.

Phillip Harrison from Sugar Grove, N, C., picked up the bonus and ended up with a total of $2,000 as the final No Box racer along with his position and a $500 bonus for being a Summit SuperSeries member. He posted a run of 6.20 seconds at 109.46 mph on a 6.19 dial-in. Runner-up Johnny Hodges posted a time of 7.17 seconds at 94.02 mph on a 7.17 dial-in.

Macey Oxentine of Mountain City, Tenn., took home the $700 Junior Dragster winner’s purse and a $250 Summit SuperSeries member bonus after posting a .085 reaction time coupled with an 8.035 elapsed time at 79.77 mph on an 8.02 dial-in in the final round. Runner-up Jeff Batts posted a 8.032 at 80.14 mph after a .044 reaction time.

Continue reading


Rain the only Winner at the IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular at Dragway 42

WEST SALEM, Oh — Despite numerous attempts to race, persistent rain caused the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Summit Sportsman Spectacular event at Dragway 42 to be called after just a few rounds of racing.

Only one full round of racing in the Moser Engineering $10,000 race was completed on Saturday between storms. After massive track cleaning efforts continued on Sunday morning, the race resumed Sunday afternoon but track time was limited before another storm hit forcing the cancellation.  Twenty-seven drivers including the final two No Box entries of split the main event purse while four cars split the Junior dragster payout. The scheduled $5,000-to-win race for Sunday was cancelled and all those who had paid entry fees were refunded.

“Unfortunately, we were not able to overcome a horrible weekend forecast that turned out to be exactly correct this time” said IHRA Division Director Jon O’Neal.  “I want to thank all the competitors for sticking it out and all the Dragway 42 staff for putting a huge effort into trying to make this weekend happen.  We did everything in our power to give the sportsman racers the best possible experience this weekend.”

Continue reading


Weekend Results from the IHRA Summit Spectacular at Xtreme Raceway Park

FERRIS, TX — Brent Lancaster was the winner of Saturday’s $10,000-to-win IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular race at Xtreme Raceway Park.

The Fort Worth, Texas driver had a .018 reaction time and posted a 5.778-second run (116.10 mph) on a 5.76 dial-in to beat Bob Koski from Red Oak, Texas 5.226 seconds (130.93) on a 5.20 dial-in in the final round of Moser Engineering Saturday action.

Sid Marrs from Forney, Texas captured a $1,000 bonus as the final No Box racer. He posted a run of 6.247 seconds at 109.44 mph on a 6.23 dial-in. Runner-up Ed Box of Grand Prairie, Texas, red-lighted to negate a run of 6.593 seconds at 103.66 mph.

The Junior Dragsters final was a matchup of the Green boys from Abilene, Texas. Austin Green won with a quick .004 reaction time coupled with a 7.927 elapsed time at 73.70 mph. Runner-up Caden Green went 7.892 at 79.55 mph after a .076 reaction time.

Continue reading


Comeaux, Hughes Make History at IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular

PORT ALLEN, LA — Perry Comeaux and Brian Hughes made history as the first winners of the new International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Summit Sportsman Spectacular races Saturday at State Capitol Raceway.

Comeaux from Praireville, La., was the winner of Saturday’s Moser $10k race. Hughes from Diana, Texas was the winner of the LaQuinta Inn & Suites $5k race, which was moved up to Saturday night due to a wet weather forecast.

The IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular was created to produce a double-race weekend with increased purses that is affordable for grassroots, bracket-racing competitors who support their local tracks each week. Saturday’s action did just that.

Comeaux was presented an IHRA Ironman Trophy and a large championship check for $10,000 for his efforts. Brad Roberts of Carthage, Texas captured the $2,000 runner-up prize.

Continue reading


More Tracks Sign Agreements with IHRA

Tracks across North America continue to sign sanctioning agreements with the International Hot Rod Association, citing the IHRA’s commitment to grassroots, sportsman racing as seen through its programs like the IHRA Summit SuperSeries, the largest and most prestigious bracket racing championship in drag racing.

Muncie Dragway, I-64 Motorplex and Summerduck Dragway are the latest to renew their commitments as IHRA member tracks.

Muncie Dragway opened on Easter Sunday in 1960 and features a 1/4-mile drag strip. The Albany, Indiana facility has its season-opening races are set for this Saturday. The 2017 IHRA Summit SuperSeries track champions for Muncie Dragway were: Dennis Jones in Top (Box), Jack Liggett in Mod (No Box) and Brayde McCreery in Junior Dragsters.

Muncie Dragway’s team of racers made quite an impact at last year’s IHRA Division 5 (Thunder) Summit Team Finals, finishing runner-up in the event which featured some of the most iconic tracks in the Midwest.

Continue reading


Great Prizes, Value at IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular Opener Pre-Enter and Receive Sunday Free

The new International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Summit Sportsman Spectacular will make its debut in Louisiana next month featuring great value and an extensive prize package.

The opening weekend of races is April 20-22, 2018 at State Capitol Raceway, Port Allen, La. The races feature a $10,000-to-win payout on Saturday and a $5,000-to-win on Sunday.
But, that’s only one part of an extensive prize package.

IHRA Ironman trophies and large championship checks will be presented to event Saturday and Sunday. IHRA partner Imagine That Customswill award a custom painted one-of-a-kind trophy helmet to one competitor that weekend.

The biggest value comes for racers who pre-enter for the event. All pre-entered competitors will get a buy one / get one free offer to help kick off our 2018 season. When you pre-enter and buy an entry for Saturday’s race, you will get a free entry for Sunday’s race.

Continue reading

1 2 3 97
Team/Series News