because you want to SEE it


LANCASTER, NY – Lancaster National Dragway put a wrap on the 2015 season this past Saturday with the Pro Modified of Ken Mottshaw - MARY NEFFKE MOTORSPORTS PHOTOGRAPHY rescheduled Pro Mod-A-Palooza and the Season Championship Run-Offs for the weekly Franco’s Pizza IHRA Drag Racing program.

Over 200 cars took part in the final event of the season, including 17 of the top Pro Modifieds from the region plus 19 Buffalo Street Outlaws.

The Pro Modified field was trimmed from 17 to eight during qualifying with Randy Jewell taking top qualifier honors with a 4.35-second elapsed time at 166.17 mph. Mike Stawicki took the final spot on the bracket with a 4.74 run at 131.96 mph.

A gorgeous fall afternoon turned into a cool October evening as the sun set during eliminations. The dropping temperatures made conditions challenging for some competitors, which led to several lengthy clean-ups during the show. Lancaster National Dragway officials decided to cut the event short in the interest of safety.

The “Pro Mod-a-Palooza” title was shared by Jewell and Jim Flanigan, who were left standing after the semi-final round.

The 2015 Lancaster National Dragway champions were crowned for the weekly home track classes as well as Quick 16.

Steve Ferstl of Burlington, Ontario clinched the Uncle Bob’s Self Storage Quick 16 title. Ferstl won three of six Quick 16 events this season while en route to the championship.

The title chase in McGard Top ET was tied between Mike Sobczysnki and the team of Jan Winkowski and Tom Wieczorek entering the final event. Both points leaders were eliminated in the first round of eliminations, which forced the title to be decided by two levels of tiebreakers. Sobczysnki and the Winkowski/Wieczorek team each had one win in 2015, but Sobczysnki had one more runner-up finish than the teammates to take the Top ET title.

Dale Eckert claimed yet another Mod ET championship as he held off Jeff Kerl in the final standings.

Street ET points leader Cody Winkowski lost in the first round, which opened a door for Nick Morrisey to steal the championship. Morrissey, however, ran out of rounds and Winkowski secured the track title.

Lucas Salemi had already locked up the Hebeler’s Bikes & Sleds championships going into the final race.

The track champions were scheduled to go head-to-head to decide the inaugural winner of the Lancaster National Dragway K-100/Bauer Racing Grand Championship, however it has been postponed until the beginning of the 2016 season. The Grand Champion will win a prize package valued at $5,000.
The next event for the Lancaster drag racing program is the 2015 Awards Banquet on Friday, November 13 at the Packstage Pub located at 601 Dingens Street in Cheektowaga, N.Y. Tickets are available through the track website (

The 2015 campaign was a successful one under first-year Drag Racing Director, Sharon Hughes. There was an increase in weekly car counts as well as exciting events added to the schedule that were well received by fans and competitors. Lancaster National Dragway management looks forward to the 2016 season, which will be begin on Saturday, April 16.

  • MBE Button 290x
Team/Series News