because you want to SEE it

Funny Car Champions Force, Hagan, Hight and Beckman Headline Pre-Stage FanFest on Oct. 12

ENNIS, TX – Four of the biggest names in recent NHRA Mello Yello Funny Car championship history will highlight the drivers participating in the free Pre-Stage FanFest on Thursday, October 12, in downtown Ennis.  16-time Funny Car champion John Force will be joined by two-time champion Matt Hagan as well as 2009 champion Robert Hight and 2012 champion Jack Beckman. The quartet of Funny Car drivers who are all vying for the 2017 Mello Yello NHRA championship will be joined by Arlington-based Top Fuel racer and U.S. Nationals runner-up Kebin Kinsley, Pro Stock stand out Shane Tucker, Top Fuel racer Shawn Reed and Top Alcohol Dragster racer and future NHRA Mello Yello Series star Ashley Sanford.

“This event is a great way to kick-off the AAA Texas FallNationals and the City of Ennis has been a great partner,” said Texas Motorplex General Manager Andy Carter. “We will have race cars on display including Tony Schumacher’s US Army Top Fuel dragster plus food and music for fans. The highlight will be the driver autograph session and we are excited to have some of the biggest names in Funny Car from John Force to Matt Hagan to Robert Hight to Jack Beckman signing for our fans.”

The City of Ennis and Texas Motorplex are partnering for the fourth family-friendly Pre-Stage Fan Fest on between 5 p.m. – 9 p.m. in Downtown Ennis. Dallas Street and Knox Street will be blocked off for fans to wander between NHRA pro and sportsman cars, food trucks, music and more. Professional racers will be available for autographs during the event from 7 p.m. – 8 p.m.

Professional qualifying will begin on Friday, October 13 with two sessions and continue on Saturday, October 14. Final eliminations for the fourth race of the Countdown to the Championship will begin at 11 a.m. on Sunday, October 15. For additional information about the AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals visit

Team/Series News